CEPR's 20th Anniversary Party


815 16th St NW Washington, DC 20005

Oct 22, 2019

6:30 PM - 9:00 PM (GMT-5)


The Center for Economic and Policy Research

CEPR Logo anniversary Primary Color NO NET

CEPR commemorated 20 years as “a professional thorn in the side of orthodoxy” with a celebration featuring food, drink, and a special message from CEPR Board member Danny Glover.

While CEPR has been providing accessible, fact-based research that explains economic concepts over the last 20 years, on October 29th we looked ahead to the future.


6:30 pm - Event open, with music by Hassan El-Tayyab

7:30 to 8:30 pm - Hear from our featured speakers

9:00 pm - Close

The Host Committee

  • Jared Bernstein, Senior Fellow, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

  • Annie Bird, Executive Director, Guatemala Human Rights Commission

  • Laura Carlsen, Director, Americas Program, Center for International Policy

  • Ha-Joon Chang, Faculty of Economics, University of Cambridge

  • Danny Glover, CEPR Board Member, Actor, and Activist

  • Katrina vanden Heuvel, Editorial Director & Publisher, The Nation

  • Stephanie Kelton, Professor of Public Policy and Economics, Stony Brook University

  • Lance Lindblom, [Retired] President & CEO, Trustee, The Nathan Cummings Foundation


Rep. Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr., Representative from Georgia


Rep. Ro Khanna, Representative from California


Rep. Mark Pocan, Representative from Wisconsin


Featured Speaker: Sandra Black, Professor, Columbia University

Sandra E. Black is Professor of Economics and International and Public Affairs at Columbia University. She served as a Member of Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers from August 2015-January 2017.


Alan Barber, Policy Director, Congressional Progressive Caucus Center


Keane Bhatt, Communications Director and Policy Advisor, Office of Senator Sanders


Heather Boushey, President & CEO, Washington Center for Equitable Growth


Wendy Chun-Hoon, Co-Director, Family Values @ Work


Mike Darner, Executive Director, Congressional Progressive Caucus


Cathy Feingold, Director of the International Department of AFL-CIO


Katherine McFate, CEPR Board Member


Maria Luisa Mendonca, Director, Network for Social Justice and Human Rights in Brazil


Becky Ray, Postdoctoral Associate, Boston University Global Development Policy Center


John Schmitt, Vice President, Economic Policy Institute


William E. Spriggs, Chief Economist, AFL-CIO

Support Cepr


If you value CEPR's work, support us by making a financial contribution.

Si valora el trabajo de CEPR, apóyenos haciendo una contribución financiera.

Donate Apóyanos